Top 5 Lipsticks for Spring

Top 5 Lipsticks for Spring

So Spring has just begun, and what’s better than sporting colourful lips?

I adore lipsticks, because I really do think they complete the look – from a full face of makeup to just having on some mascara, lipstick always seems to make things better. I tend to stick to my reds and pink toned lip products throughout the year because I’m used to them and if I’m on the go, they’re the colours I’d probably reach for. But going into Spring has made me want to try some more daring (in my case anyway) shades and so I came up with my own little ‘top 5 lipsticks’ for the season.

 

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick in Heart Breaker (016)

The is the first Rimmel lipstick I have ever bought and it seems I just can’t get enough of. This pink shade is just beautiful for both day or night and stays on for ages! It is a creamy lipstick that gives you just the right amount of shine and feels so smooth on your lips. Perfect for those days when you don’t have time to apply a lot of makeup – slap on some mascara, lipstick and you’re good to go.

Heart Breaker

Sleek Makeup True Colour Lipstick in Coral Reef (772)

Bam! Now this is a Spring colour alright! Sleek couldn’t have come up with a better name for the line – Coral Reef is right on point! Firstly, I really like that the colour on the tube is the EXACT same colour as the product inside. Sometimes, the colour at the bottom varies from the actual product which is, well, disappointing and misleading. Anyway – back to the point of this post – this colour is stunning. I must admit, it’s probably a shade that doesn’t suit everyone since it’s quite vibrant, but then again, you decide how intense your application should be. I really recommend this one because it’s young, fun and energetic – and at Sleek’s affordable prices – why not?

Coral Reef

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Lacquer in Big Bang (400)

This beauty is a recent purchase – I know, I know it’s ABOUT TIME! In my defense, I had been eyeing the Apocalips line since their release and have been going back and forth on purchasing one of them ever since. I mean – you can never have enough red lipsticks. Fact. Gorgeous packaging and gorgeous colour! This is definitely another must have not just for Spring, but all year round. The consistency is liquid as of a gloss but pigmented as that of a lipstick (hence, lip lacquer) so you do have to be careful when applying it. The applicator works fine but if you’re slightly clumsy or you tend to be heavy-handed, using a lip brush is the way to go. It does stay on for quite a long time but it might smudge or bleed if you attempt drinking or eating. Therefore I suggest using a lip liner or matte lip colour such as the e.l.f. Matte Lip Colour in Rich Red underneath it for it to sink in and stay on longer without smudging. Other than that, this lip lacquer is one of my favourite lip products of all time.

Big Bang

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick in Sugar Plum (086)

I sense an occuring Rimmel theme here. I’ve decided throw in this pinkish-purple shade into the mix because purple tones are really in this season. For those who are still hesitant to sport these purple hues, this lipstick is the one for you! I wouldn’t consider this shade to be ‘plum’ as it’s more of a shimmery pink (a bit darker than fuchsia) lipstick with purple undertones. If you’re looking for a more purple toned lipstick, I would suggest trying out the Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick in Amethyst Shimmer (084). Just like the other Rimmel products I’ve mentioned, this goes on effortlessly and creamy. More of an evening colour I would say but if you’re able to pull it off during the day – good for you. Unfortunately, opposed to Sleek’s lipsticks, the colour on the bottom of the tube is not true to colour so do swatch the colour (unless you’re buying online). Nonetheless, still a beautiful lipstick and worth a try.

Sugar Plum

Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Rosy Nude (065)

Introducing, my all time go to lipstick. Even though the Spring season is known for it’s vibrant colours, nude lipsticks are great for completing the look without drawing all the focus on your lips. This luscious, creamy lipstick just gives you the colour boost your lips need – kind of a “your lips but better” look. Even though it’s pigmented, this colour is perfect for on the go because you can apply it without being too perfect. Perfect for matching with floral outfits or even just a simple white dress – it looks good with almost everything! Love it.

Rosy Nude

To give you a better idea of how the colours show up on application, I took the liberty of swatching each product. I must admit, Rosy Nude looks brown for because it’s swatched on the skin, not the lips. When applied on the lips, the colour pay off is exactly as seen in the tube (like the picture above). Also, excuse the not-so-great lighting but I was using natural light.

Swatches.jpg

That’s all for today – I hope you all enjoyed it 🙂

Which lipsticks are you sporting this Spring? Any lipsticks I should try out? Leave a comment below!!

Until next time,

Elaine xo

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Lipsticks for Spring

  1. I love, love, love all the shades you chose, seriously?! – the best. Big Bang is my favorite red lip shade (despite the fact of owning billions of red shades), but in my case I don’t know whether my lips are different than yours or not (haha) but it stays for a pretty long time, – the longer it stays, the better it turns up.

    My favorite spring shade has to be – Revlon Fire & Ice. For me it’s the best coral-y, reddish shade. You should try it out sometime if you do not own it already :).

    Interesting post by the way – gorgeously written and nice photos! I posted one of these like three weeks ago if you would like to check it out (not for you obviosouly because I know you did already :p, for others haha).

    Stay beautiful princess,
    Belle xxx

    beautyisart27.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Lady!! Glad you enjoyed the post 🙂 Yes – I obviously read your post haha…no I don’t have the Revlon Fire & Ice – will definitely keep it in mind when purchasing my next lipstick 🙂

      Elaine xo

      Like

  2. I am suffering from memory loss already.

    You young lady, you are the cause that my bank is going to suffer from an overdraft. I am DEFINITELY going to try the Sleek Coral Reef one – it looks amazing!

    Okay bye. (Relating to Frozen) haha.

    Love you xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

