Sick, Sick, Sick

So I must admit, I don’t have the strongest immune system. At all. It seems that my immune system and I are constantly not on the same page. So yes, I get sick a lot. But most of the time, it’s not ‘serious-sick’ – a cold, stomach virus, sore throat…throw a couple of infections here and there and we’re good to go.

Lately, it seems that everyone around me is falling ill someway or another and it was about time that I was next. So I am sick. Sick-ish. I currently have a chesty cough that sometimes gives me shortness of breath. I guess it’s not too bad and should be okay in no time. But even though I wish I could stay in bed all day and hibernate, things still have to get done.

And this is why I decided to share the ‘routine’ I follow so as to feel (and look) a bit better.

Firstly, may I say that I’m naturally lazy – so just imagine me when I’m not feeling well (I’ve realized that till now, this post is reflecting bad on me). That is why I avoid things such as washing my hair or painting my nails. However, I do feel that recovering from being sick is a process so once I start feeling a bit better, I do attempt to groom myself – it feels like you’re getting rid of the sickness.

After successfully getting out of bed, I normally start off with my skin routine. Now as you may have seen in my previous post, I don’t have a very complicated routine. However, in cases like this I just stick to a refreshing cleanser such as my Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash by The Body Shop and finish it off with a good moisturiser such as the Vitamin E Moisture Cream, also by The Body Shop. That simple.

I’ll normally put up my hair in a messy bun so it’s out of the way. If you have manageable hair and feel like being a bit fancier than a messy bun, sprinkle on some dry shampoo and a simple side braid will do the trick. Sporting a braid will make it look as if you spent more time on your hair than you actually did!

Let’s say I’m feeling brave and feel like going out – I’ll need to put on some makeup because there is no way I’m walking out of the house looking like I’m promoting a new campaign for dark circles and zits. Nothing too fancy. I normally apply my makeup right after moisturising my face, so I’ll go ahead with my e.l.f. All Over Cover Stick ( I use the shade Honey). What this does is basically evens out my complexion since my skin is slightly yellow-toned and so. If you’re not applying your makeup after moisturising your face, the easiest thing to do is to use a tinted moisturiser (ideally with an SPF). This way it’s moisturising and providing coverage at the same time. I personally use the All Over Cover Stick, so I would need to go back in with concealer to hide my dark circles and blemishes. The concealer I’m using is the Maybelline New York Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Concealer + Treatment (wow, that’s a mouthful!). Even though this concealer is targeted for anti-aging and for dark circles, I use this for my dark circles as well as for blemishes and to cancel out any redness on my face.

Moving on to setting your makeup with powder. If you’re wearing minimal or a full face of makeup, you should always set your makeup so it stays put throughout the day and so you won’t look greasy. A good drugstore powder is the Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder. Next, I like to use The Body Shop’s Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder in Medium Matte (03). This is an optional step but I like to apply bronzer as it adds a bit of warmth to your face. I then lightly stipple on Sleek’s Blush in Rose Gold for a bit of colour on my cheeks.

A bit of eye makeup goes a long way. For a softer, more neutral look, I prefer to use brown liner over black. I personally skip this step because I feel I can get away with just mascara, but if you’re willing to go that extra step – why not?! For brown liner I normally use the e.l.f. Waterproof Eyeliner Crayon as it’s really easy to use and gives you the liberty of not being super precise. Finishing off my eye makeup, I apply the Maybelline New York The Falsies Volum’ Express Mascara in Very Black. I prefer using a waterproof mascara when I’m sick because that way it won’t get all over my face if my eyes water or I accidentally rub them.

Lastly, I apply some lip balm to prevent dry lips and I’m good to go. If I’m staying inside I’ll just slap on the Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm right after moisturising and that’s it. However, if I’m going out, I prefer using the Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Hibiscus as it gives off a splash of rosy colour.

Other things that help me when I’m feeling sick include a moisturising hand cream, a Vitamin C drink, reading (books mostly – I’m not that into magazines or catalogues) and of course – a good movie or series!

I hope you found this post interesting and not too dragging. If anyone of you reading this, happens to be sick – I wish you a speedy recovery!

If enjoyed this post? Like it! What are you up to when you get sick? Share your thoughts and comment below!

Until next time,

Elaine xo

 

5 thoughts on “Sick, Sick, Sick

  1. Hello my sick buddy. I have the same sickness as you do, and this post was rather cheerful to me more than it should probably have – I laughed and laughed and laughed for a long time, even typing, it’s hard when you can’t control your laugh (and I don’t know why btw). Apparently you’re a good cure for me haha.

    When I get sick I usually stay in bed and cuddle with my stuffed animals – probably shouldn’t have mentioned that to the internet but eh who cares, right?

    But not this time young lady – I’ve finally read THE FAULT IN OUR STARS
    *imaginary audience cheering and clapping for me*

    I loved your post lady 🙂 And mostly, I love you ❤

    Belle xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

