MUA Haul

mua-haul

I have always loved shopping. The idea of having something new excites me. And the fact the I can do it from the comfort of my own bed, is even better!

Unfortunately, Makeup Academy (MUA) is not supplied in Malta and therefore, I can only get their products through online shopping. Since online shopping charges you for shipping, I don’t purchase often but tend to get a couple of items at once – so this is a very much deserved MUA Haul! So let’s get started!

Luxe Pretty Edgy Eye Palette – £8

mua-edgy-pallete

I think this is the item I’m most excited about. Look at it! The top 6 eyeshadow are all shimmery shades whilst the bottom 4 are matte. These shadows are not only stunning but are super pigmented! I haven’t actually worn any of the shades but I have swatched some of the shadows on my fingers and they look gorgeous! The packaging is firm and even though it is plastic, it looks more expensive than it actually is. I think it’s right size – not too big but not too small which makes it perfect for travelling and storage. As the name of the palette implies, these shades give more of that evening, sultry look – something I’ve been missing in my makeup collection as I normally opt for safer shades. I will keep you updated about how the quality and application once I have a chance to test it out.

Matte Foundation in Honeycomb (Shade 2) – £2

mua-foundation

 

Yes, that’s right! This foundation is just £2! I’ve been wanting to try a matte foundation for so long – so I’ve decided to give this little one go. The packaging is small and sleek – perfect if you’re on the go. I haven’t tried the foundation out either but I have swatched it on my hand – I hope it’s not too light for me. I went with the middle shade Honeycomb simply because Shade 1 looked too light and Shade 3 looked way too dark. When swatched, it did leave a nice matte finish so now I’ll just have to wait and see if it truly gives a ‘velvet smooth long-lasting finish’ as it claims it does.

Nailpolish in Bullet – £1, Brushes (various) – £1.50 – £1.95

mua-nail-pollish-and-brushes

 

Starting off with the nailpolish – I got the shade Bullet because I didn’t have a grey nailpolish. I would say that for just £1, it’s good. The brush is quite small so it’s not that easy to work with and the colour doesn’t go on opaque – you need about 2 or 3 layers depending on how heavy-handed you are. The good thing about it is that it dries really quickly and on the whole the colour is quite nice. Since this isn’t a Spring shade at all, I used it as an accent nail because I still wanted to try it out. You can check out how it looks here.

I also got three brushes – the F3 Concealer Brush, the E2 Eyeshadow Contour Brush and the E6 Eyebrow Brush with Comb. I actually got the Concealer Brush not to primarily use for concealer. I know. The reason I purchased the F3 is for eyeshadow application in the inner corner of my eyes. I’ve already tried it out and it works great! Also used it to lightly line (try saying that fast!) the bottom lashes with eyeshadow.

I haven’t used the E2 yet, but it’s angled and fluffy (without being too soft). From the looks of it, I think it will do it’s job well. The third and final brush is the E6 brush which I honestly just bought so I have a makeup tool handy if I needed it.

Mosaic Bronzer in Natural Glow (Shade 1) – £2.50

mua-bronzer

This goes on pretty as it looks in the pot. I tried this on for the first time this weekend and it’s beautiful. I’m not sure if I would suggest it to pale or light-skinned people – maybe you should be more careful when applying it. The aim of this bronzer is obviously to swirl your brush in the product and all those different shade together, leave you with a natural contour. It does have a shimmer but it’s not overpowering – just gives you the slightest shine. Love it!

Undress Me too Palette – £4

mua-undress-me-too-pallete

This palette is a sequel to the Undressed Palette and after being sold out every time I visit the website, I finally got my hands on it! I can’t help but think if MUA marketing these two palettes as a dupe for Urban Decay’s Naked and Naked 2 Palettes. Not only are the shades similar, but the Undressed Palette resembles the Naked Palette, with their sister palettes matching too. Anyway, this 12 shade palette has 4 matte shades whilst the rest are shimmery. I haven’t got a chance to try this out so I swatched a couple of the shades on my hand. Just like the other MUA palettes I spoke about, these shadows have good pigmentation and formulated well. I will keep you posted about the quality once I try the palette out.

Do you have any of the products I purchased? Did you find this interesting? Like the post! Share your thoughts and comments below!

Until next time,

Elaine xo

 

2 thoughts on “MUA Haul

Leave a Reply

