Review: Stila Palette

I’ve been racking my brain all week long trying to find something to blog about. Since I’ve been trying to use products I already have rather than buying new ones, I looked through my collection to see if something inspires me enough to blog about it. And here we are!

Today, I’ll be talking about one of my favourite purchases – the Stila In the Light Palette. This product holds a special place in my heart simply because it’s the first high-end product I ever owned.

I purchased the palette off feelunique.com for €32.50 – at the time I didn’t know of any sites that ship this product other than feelunique, so maybe you should try a couple other sites that might sell it for slightly cheaper. The product comes in a sleek, rose gold coloured packaging which is so beautiful. Moreover, the palette opens/closes magnetically and therefore is secure and great for travelling.stila-palette

The palette is made up of 10 gorgeous shades; 4 matte and the other 6 shimmery. In addition, it also comes with one of Stila’s famous waterproof smudge stick liners.  The colours are all powder eye-shadows and all have a great consistency. In my opinion, they are really pigmented (the swatches below don’t do them justice) and even though they are a powder, none of them have a chalky application. On the contrary, these eye-shadows glide on really nice and smoothly, and are super-blendable. What I love about the colours in this palette is that you can really buff them out to your desired look, from subtle to smokey these colours will work effortlessly.

Additionally, the eye-shadows stay do stay on for a long period of time (and that’s saying something in Malta!) and rarely crease. Probably, them sometimes creasing has to do with the climate here in Malta (in fact, in Winter they don’t crease at all!) since it’s super hot and super humid. I have worn them on their own, with a primer and also with a cream shadow under and most of the time there is no creasing whatsoever, but I thought it was still worth a mention.

palette-colours

 

The colours I would say I use the most are ebony, bliss and bare. I also use sandstone and kitten quite a lot too. I actually use ebony (a very dark-almost-black-blue) as an eyeliner, creating a soft yet smokey line which looks really put together and is actually faster to apply than actual eye liner. The first shade, bare, is perfect for washing out any redness or veins on your eyelids and is also the perfect colour for highlighting under your brows. Bliss, sunset and sandstone are the colours I use mostly for blending and buffing out those harsh corners. I sometimes use bliss on it’s own just in the crease for a subtle definition. I can’t review this palette without mentioning cult favourite, kitten – I use this in the corner of my eyes (and sometimes exactly in the centre of my lid) to make look bigger and more awake. I can’t even begin to describe your gorgeous this colour is. It’s the right amount of pinky-champagne and I just LOVE it!

waterproof-pencil

I do like the smudge stick but I haven’t used it that much since most of the time I either use a black liner or ebony (from this palette) as I find it suits me more.

Below you can find swatches of each colour but I apologise in advance for how they turned out – the swatches really don’t do the palette justice – it’s just that i had to swatch them on my arm AND take the photo so it was a bit awkward and uncomfortable. Also, the lighting is not the best, but hopefully you get the gist. The swatches are in the order they are in the palette (per row) so I didn’t label the swatches because otherwise you actually wouldn’t be able to see the swatch itself (I hope I’m making sense).

swatch2

Do you have this palette? Which shade is your favourite? If you enjoyed this post, like it! Feel free to share your thoughts and comments below 🙂

Until next time,

Elaine xo

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Stila Palette

Leave a Reply

