My Makeup Story Tag

A few weeks ago, I got tagged by the sweet Charlene from A Cosmetic Affair and the beautiful Maya from Blue Jeans and Red Lipstick to do the ‘My Makeup Story Tag’. If you haven’t already, go check out her blog here.

1. How old were you when you started makeup?

I remember loving playing dress up as a kid – using my mum’s makeup just for fun and dressing up for Carnival and Halloween. With regards to when I properly started wearing makeup – I would say round age 11-12 when I legitimately used to apply this powder blue eyeshadow all over my lid, starting from my lash-line all the up to my brows. Ugh.

2. How did you get into makeup?

It started off as wanting to feel girly and mature (as a 12-year old) and then I kind of just wore eye-liner and the occasional foundation my mum had matched me with. It was actually around the age of 16 that I really started interesting myself in makeup by excessively watching (and nothing has changed) YouTube tutorials.

3. What are some of your favourite brands?

Since I don’t really afford high-end products, most of my favourites are drugstore. The Body Shop, Rimmel and Maybelline are my go-to brands as I tend to love most of their products. My current high-end favourites are Stila and M.A.C.

4. What does makeup mean to you?

Honestly, makeup to me means art. I know that might be cheesy to a lot of you, but that’s how I can best describe it. I was never good at drawing art or at being creative. For, me applying makeup is like painting on a blank canvas and finding out what works best.

5. If you could only wear 4 products on your face, what would they be?

Definitely concealer, mascara, brow pencil and bronzer. Don’t think I can go without them.

6. What is your favourite thing about makeup?

My favourite thing about makeup would have to be the fact that you can always try different things to suit your liking that day…and at the end of the day, you can remove and re-apply.

7. What do you think about drugstore vs. high-end makeup?

As I said, I don’t own many high-end products, but that’s simply because I can’t afford it. I’ve recently made a decision to buy 1 high-end product rather than many drugstore ones. Like that I can slowly start building up my high-end collection. Other than that, I do like both drugstore and high-end makeup.

8. What is one tip of advice you can give a beginner?

Less is best. As OK it is to experiment, the best way to do so is to take things step by step and don’t overdue it. You can love makeup all you want, but if you applied too much foundation, you will end up looking cakey – and that’s not a good look. Take one thing at a time to learn what best suits you.

9. What is one makeup trend you never understood?

I guess everybody applies makeup the way they like it so I try my best not to judge. I think my biggest makeup pet-peeve is a lip liner three shades darker than the actual lip colour being used. I know it’s meant to accentuate the lips, but three unblended shades darker??!! Really?! I just don’t get it.

10. What do you think about the beauty community on YouTube?

I love the beauty community on YouTube. I find it really handy to learn new tips and tricks as well as just watch them to get inspired. Hopefully, in the near future, I may be open to start my own little corner on Youtube 😉

And that’s all of the questions for this tag!

The people I tag are:

Victoria and Tori from Pretty Lovely Girls
Maria & Maria from M&M’s Meeting Point
Rhi from Moving On, Up & Away
Ellie from The Uniform

Apart from the beautiful ladies I tagged above, I tag all of you reading! If you do this tag, make sure to tag or tweet me @elainemuscat94 so I can check it out 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this week’s post! If you did, like it! Share your thoughts and comments below 🙂

Until next time,

Elaine xo

4 thoughts on “My Makeup Story Tag

Leave a Reply

