September Favourites 2014

September Favourites

As I might have mentioned in previous posts, I am currently trying to make use of the products I currently own, rather than simply buying new ones. Therefore, I get to actually re-discover products I may have put aside or didn’t have the chance to really try.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation in Dark Beige (55)

Since I’ve been at work, I’ve been using the e.l.f. mineral foundation in Warm and had totally forgot about this product. It was only this past month that I actually got into using it. It applies nice and even. I must admit, even though it is quite pigmented, once you buff it in to the skin, it is much more sheer than I expected it to be. Therefore, I personally need a good two layers of it and then going in back with concealer (keep in mind my problematic skin). The shade I have is slightly dark for me and could have gone a shade lighter as it may show up slightly orange. Then again, thanks to my ‘tan’, I can get away with it for now. What I really like about this product is that it feels really light on the skin and really does last. When I’m wearing it, it feels like a barely have got anything on and especially in Malta’s humid weather, that’s a major plus.
healthy-mix-serum

The Body Shop Hand Sanitizer in Coconut

You probably know by now that I love my hand sanitizers. In fact, I already have two new ones waiting to be used. The main reason I use hand sanitizers so much is that I have such a bad habit of constantly touching my face. Apart from that, I use public transport daily, and if you have ever used public transport yourself, you will understand that not everyone is hygienic, which quite frankly, disgusts me.
hand-sanitizer

Bourjois 123 CC Eye Cream in Light Beige

I had been eyeing this product for a while so I was quite excited to try it out. To be quite honest, I think I prefer my Maybelline Concealer more than I this one. What I really like about this product is that it does cover up those dark circles and also brightens my under eye area. Therefore, I like to use this most when I need to look like a had 10 hours of sleep. I also do like the consistency of it, but again, I prefer the Maybelline one. It did crease a couple of times on me, but when I took the time to set it really well, I didn’t as much creasing. We also have to keep in mind that during the month of September, it is still quite hot and humid in Malta. Therefore, some products that might be fantastic in other countries, may have varied results here due to the climate.

Bourjois Concealer

Real Techniques Stippling Brush

As you may know, I love the Real Techniques brushes quite a bit, so it’s no surprise that this ended up in my favourites. Even though I normally go for the Expert Face Brush for foundation application, I reached out for this brush more this month, especially when applying the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum. I prefer this buffed in finish with the particular base I use, giving off a very natural healthy-looking finish. Since it has short bristles, it gives you a controlled, even application, which I really like. This is definitely a brush a would recommend to anyone!
Real Techniques Stippling Brush

And those were all the things I was loving this month!

What were your September Favourites? Did you enjoy the post? Like it! Feel free to share your thoughts and comments below 🙂

Until next time,

Elaine xo

 

Leave a Reply

