October Favourites 2014

October has too gone by yet it barely feels like Autumn here in Malta. Unfortunately, we are still going through humid, hot and sunny days, with an occasional windy afternoon here and there. As much as some people are still soaking up all the sun they can get, here I am yearning for that proper cold day where I can get some use out of my cosy jumpers and coat.

But back to beauty, here is what I have been loving this month!

Sports Direct Sports Bras

Ok, this can be a bit of TMI for some people, but whatevs. I have been trying to get into exercising by going to kickboxing classes with two of my friends. Now, may I just point out that I am NOT training professionally, it’s just for exercise’s sake. Needless to say, I am a girl and therefore I need sport bras to support my lady parts boobs. I had gotten these from the Sports Direct outlet when in Birmingham and I do not regret it one bit! These bras are the bomb.com – literally, nothing falls out! Also, they were such a bargain – I think they were originally around £22 each and I got them £9 a piece! Their actual brand (Sports Direct doesn’t only carry their own brand) is USA Pro. Definitely recommend!

sports-bras

 

Vichy Capital Soleil Face Cream SPF 50+

Firstly, may I just say – I HATE sunscreen. I do not like the smell of it, the feel of it on my skin, the way it looks, nada. But, I kind of love this Vichy one. Since I have been taking my acne medication, my skin has become more sensitive to the sun, so I had to give in to sunscreen application whether I liked it or not. What I really like about this sunscreen is that firstly, it dries matte. This way, makeup application on top of your suncreen will be easier, and won’t just slip off your face. Secondly, it sinks in within seconds. Most sunscreens I have used, take ages to sink in your skin and leave that white film on your skin – this one doesn’t! Once you apply it, it literally disappears into the skin and does NOT change your skin tone. This is such a major concern with other sunscreens for most people as makeup would end up looking a shade or two lighter than it actually is (especially if being photographed). Other than that, it has the same features like most sunscreens – moisturising, paraben free, prevents harmful UV rays, and so on.

vichy-sunblock

 

Caudalie Divine Oil

I got this baby as part of the September Beauty Box by lookfantastic and boy, do I love it! For the last few months I have been open to including oils and serums into my skincare routine. At first, I was a bit skeptic of the whole thing but once I had started using the Camomile Cleansing Oil by The Body Shop, I was totally converted. Now, it is actually working out great for me, as my skin transitioned from oily to dry due to the medication. And this product is heaven! It does have a floral scent that you can smell for quite a while but personally, that doesn’t bother me. It sinks into the skin and makes your skin feel plump and nourished. I actually prefer it over my moisturiser. That being said, I don’t use it in the morning before applying my makeup because it does take some time to sink into the skin. Other than that, I love it and definitely will be re-purchasing it!

caudalie-oil

Zara Perfume Nuit

I don’t really own a lot of perfume bottles, because I’ve only recently started wearing perfume on a daily basis (allergies). I stumbled on this perfume when in Zara with my bestie, Liza and I literally could not stop smelling it. I had been looking for a day-to-night perfume that is slightly more mature, less fruity, and this is spot on. Even though it has a more mature scent, it still has that young fragrance to it (sorry, I’m terrible at describing scents!). I know it may sound weird, but the more I wear it, the more I like it.

zara-perfume

Accessorize Black Studded Bag

This by far was my best bargain ever. I believe this originally costed around €70, yet I only paid about €3.20 for it! After waiting for it to be 50% off during the sale, I used a €30 voucher I got for lending someone my Bio notes to buy it and bam! – reduced to roughly €3.20! Okay, story time apart, I particularly love this bag because I can put so much stuff in it. Even though I personally found that its best use is for school, you can really dress-up or dress-down this bag for all times of day. I think I have legitimately used this bag every single day this past month! The bag also comes with a zipper pouch that you can clip on or off depending on your preferences. I think that’s really convenient because if you don’t want that extra compartment in your bag, you can just remove it, and vice-versa. Unfortunately, I think this bag is out of stock because I have had it for over a year, but I’m pretty sure Accessorize have similar ones.

accessorize-bag

And that’s all for today!

What have you been loving this October? If you enjoyed this week’s post, make sure to like it! Please feel free to share your thoughts and comments below 🙂

Until next time,

Elaine xo

7 thoughts on “October Favourites 2014

Leave a Reply

